The First Peoples’ Cultural Foundation is a transparent and accountable organization.  Annual audited statements are available to the public. The current Board of Directors was elected at the Annual General Meeting, with the mandate to establish a skills-based board and create a sustainable fundraising strategy.

Board of Directors

Lorna Wanosts’a7 Williams, Chair

Lorna Williams

Dr. Lorna Wanosts’a7 Williams is Líl̓’watul from Mount Currie. Dr. Williams is an educator with many years of experience in Indigenous education and Indigenous language revitalization. She recently completed a six-year term as Chair of the First Peoples’ Cultural Council.

Throughout her career Dr. Williams has held a number of senior positions, notably as the Director of Indigenous Education and as Associate Professor in the Faculty of Education and Department of Linguistics, both at the University of Victoria. In addition, she has been Canada Research Chair in Indigenous Knowledge and Learning, director of the Indigenous Enhancements Branch in the British Columbia Ministry of Education, and a Canadian Council on Learning Minerva Lecturer. Dr. Williams was inducted into the Order of British Columbia in 1992 for her work in education.

J, SINTEN , John Elliott, Past-Chair

STOLȻEȽ, John Elliott, ChairJ, SINTEN John Elliott is a respected Elder of the Tsartlip First Nation and has taught at ȽÁU,WELṈEW Tribal School in Saanich for over 30 years.

His dedication to the revitalization of First Nations languages began over 30 years ago, inspired by the efforts of his father, David Elliott, to preserve the SENĆOŦEN language.

In 1999, Mr. Elliott co-founded FirstVoices, a suite of web-based tools that supports language archiving and learning, and which is now used worldwide. Mr. Elliott teaches evening classes at Camosun College and is the Chairman of the Saanich Native Heritage Society. He serves on the Advisory Committee of the First Peoples’ Cultural Council (FPCC) and previously served for six years as a director on the FPCC board. In 2009, he received an honorary PhD from Maharishi University of Management in Iowa for his work in language revitalization.

John Haugen, Vice Chair

John HaugenJohn Haugen is member of Nlaka’pamux Nation in Lytton, B.C. He has committed much of his life to the revitalization of First Nations languages, arts and cultures. He is currently employed as a Restorative Justice Coordinator for the Tribal Council and is also a director on the board of the Fraser Basin Council and Stein Valley Nlaka’pamux Heritage Park. Mr. Haugen served on the board of directors of the First Peoples’ Cultural Council from 2006 to 2012 and is a past a board member on the First Nations Alliance 4 Lands. John was recently elected to the Anglican Council of Indigenous Peoples and is a member of the Indigenous Languages sub-committee and the Lytton First Nation Council.

Mr. Haugen also has a strong interest the historical buildings in his community of Lytton.

Gary Johnston, Director

Gary JohnstonGary Johnston is a member of the Squamish Nation and lives on the traditional territory in Eslhá7an Village in North Vancouver. He has dedicated much of his career to the promotion and preservation of First Nations language and culture.  Over the past 25 years, Mr. Johnston has worked in colleges and universities in a variety of capacities including, instructor, marketing manager and cultural coordinator. He recently completed his term as Vice Chair of the First Peoples’ Cultural Council board of directors. Mr. Johnston has an MA (Leadership) from Royal Roads University and a BA (Tourism Management) from Capilano University. He is currently working under contract with several agencies.


Dena Carroll, Secretary

Dena Carroll, is a member of the Chippewa of Nawash Unceded First Nations in Ontario and has been a visitor on the Lekwungen (Coast Salish) and Esquimalt First Nations for 32 years. Now retired for five years from the BC Government she spent over 15 years supporting Indigenous-led programs/services and policy for children, youth and families, health and education. She now enjoys spending her time with her 5 grandchildren, her two grown children and her husband of 45 years.  Dena has a BA and MBA from the University of Victoria.

Shannon Rohan, Treasurer

Shannon Rohan, holds the position of Chief Strategy Officer at where she works with pension funds, foundations, Indigenous trusts and universities to develop and implement responsible investment policies and practices. Shannon also leads strategic projects for including the Valuing Decent Work Initiative and the Reconciliation and Responsible Investment Initiative. Prior to joining SHARE, Shannon worked with the Johannesburg-based African Institute of Corporate Citizenship where she conducted research on responsible investment in Africa and helped to establish the Centre for Sustainability Investing. Shannon has conducted training with the International Finance Corporation and sat on the African Task Force of the United Nations Environment Programme Finance Initiative. Shannon  has a Masters of Arts degree in International Affairs from the Norman Paterson School of International Affairs and a Bachelor of Arts degree from Simon Fraser University.